How not to answer the “Weakness” question

Nick Gendler

Here are five ways not to answer the question:  “Tell me about your main weakness”.

I don’t have a weakness
Everyone has a weakness.  In fact everyone has several weaknesses.  If you don’t know your weakness then you lack self-awareness and self-awareness is what this question is trying to uncover.  Of course you could say your weakness is lack of self-awareness, but I wouldn’t.

I don’t suffer fools gladly
Then you’d better become an artist who doesn’t sell their work.  Fools surround us all and we have to suffer them.  This is possibly the smuggest and most transparent answer you can give.  All it is trying to say is “I’m clever and I don’t have time for people who aren’t clever like me (and you, the interviewer)”.  It doesn’t wash.  It’s such a cliché that it actually makes you look like a fool.

I’m not very good at managing my diary 
Big…

View original post 195 more words

Leave a Reply

