‘Autism doesn’t hold me back. I’m moving up the career ladder’

a1000shadesofhurt

‘Autism doesn’t hold me back. I’m moving up the career ladder’

Jonathan Young has big plans for his career. The business analyst at Goldman Sachs is on the autistic spectrum. But this, he says, is not something he allows to hold him back.

“I’m the company’s global go-to guy for all the information used in every single one of our internal and external presentations,” he says. “I’m moving up the ladder every year in terms of responsibility or promotion. My ambition is to maintain this momentum. In 10 years, I want to be someone fairly big.”

He is part of the most visible generation of young people with autism our society has ever known. Diagnosed early, this generation have been educated to expect not just a job when they leave school but a career on a par with their “neuro-typical” contemporaries.

The confidence and determination of these graduates – some of whom are educated…

View original post 1,872 more words

Leave a Reply

