How Effective is Telecommuting?

Another interesting view about telecommuting…

The Pinstriped Suit

Earlier today, I read an article on the Harvard  Business Review stating that Marissa Mayer (Yahoo) has eliminated the option for staff to work from home. I found this article fascinating because so many technology companies have prided themselves of creating a culture of productivity that goes beyond a brick and mortar location.

This got me thinking as to how effective Telecommuting actually is.

In most of the positions that I’ve had, Telecommuting has been an option due to the nature of my role as well as the culture of the company. I found that while I occasionally appreciated the freedom to work from home when I wanted to, I was still the most productive when I was at the office. There is something about being around other working people that adds a level of engagement to your day. I also found that being able to physically walk to somebody else’s space or…

View original post 158 more words

Leave a Reply

